My friend and I have encountered a problem. There are these two guys we've known for a good number of years. As long as we've known them we've pretty much despised them. We met them in high school and rue the day our paths crossed. As Elizabeth Bennett would say they are, "most intolerable."
Let me paint a picture for you:
Guy #1
- womanizer
- publicly embarrassed people
- prideful
- was known to start fist fights over petty issues
- jumped to conclusions about people based on first impressions and appearance
Guy #2
- womanizer
- spoke poorly about people behind their backs
- used girls to get to other girls
- hated people without reason/explanation
- unfriendly
Both of these guys at one point in time very personally offended my friend and me in one way or another. I avoid detail to keep embarrassment at bay. However, the point is they both went away for a couple of years. While they were gone we all grew up (as people do with the passing of time). We were recently forced to see these people again.
This is where the story gets interesting... They're NICE people! They have completely and totally changed from the guys we knew in high school. They're humble, sweet, caring... WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE!? They've both gone out of their way to be nice to my friend and me. They've done things completely out of character for them and totally rocked the foundation of our worlds! We find ourselves wondering if this is allowed or even fair. It caught us completely off guard.
The questions it brings up are: Why aren't we happy? Shouldn't we embrace the new, nicer versions of these boys?
But instead we're scared. It's making us uncomfortable and nervous. We're just waiting for these boys to turn on us; lull us into a false sense of security and WHAM!...pain. I mean, let's hope that doesn't happen... but haven't they abused our trust in the past? Why should we trust them now? Should we give them the benefit of the doubt? We've both grown up, why wouldn't it make sense for them to have as well?
Aren't people strange? Then again, are we the strange ones for being so confused? :)

No comments:
Post a Comment